New book, new (re)building plan?!

Around 2 years ago I purchased a book. If I’m honest, I purchased around 100 books 2 years ago, but I’d like to draw your attention to one in particular. One which my friends described as “You [meaning yours truly, of course] in a book.”
‘Rebuilding the Celtic Languages’ by Diarmuid Ó Neill.
It truly is an amazing book full of facts and statistics to do with all the Celtic languages including notes on their histories, present day ‘battles’ and future out looks.
Yet as fascinating as the book was, is and always will be, I do have two points I wish to raise. My first being the title. Do ALL the Celtic languages need “rebuilding”? Ok that’s just nitpicking but here’s my mayor point – One personal idea that could have potentially saved Ó Neill plenty of time when putting his book together…. the use of the ‘third person’!
Yep, more grammar for you now🙂 (<— premature smiley face)!
I read many a remark by users of the Celtic languages explaining something like 'those who win their independence lose their language' and vice versa. A good point if I may say so myself, but, as with the above book, I feel the use of the third person in speech is the key – and not pointless 2014 elections allowing 16 year-olds to vote!
Welsh has survived and 'flourished' as we see today because it has adapted to modern linguistics…. ie Laziness! Modern, spoken Welsh today is lazy in the sense that it is anglicanised – for example I might say 'dwi'n chwarae pêl-droed heno' (I'm playing football tonight) whereas literal and 3rd person Welsh would say 'chwaraeaf bêl-droed heno'. The use of 'dwi'n' has flourished in Welsh due to the fact it translates more readily into it's English translation. And this is similar of Welsh in all tenses: roedd (was), byddai (would), bydd (will) and (g)wnaeth (did). There is always an anglicanised means of avoiding the 3rd person.
Irish has taken this fact on board (be it probably unintentionally) and uses 'tá mé + verbal noun' regularly but still reverts to the 3rd person in tenses other than the present habitual. Can't you lot just use 'rinné + personal pronoun + verbal stem' in the past tense? I'm pretty sure Manx Gaelic does (eg ren mi etc….) but again, this itself is used to only when expressing the past tense.
The other 4 Celtic languages still stick to their original 'Celtic' methods of using the 3rd person. Cornish and Breton use 'personal pronoun + relative clause + verbal stem', for example.
My point, after all the above grammatical mumbo-jumbo, is that the Celtic languages would be better off taking a leaf out Welsh's laziness-enriched book.
And yes, it is perhaps best to keep to more 'Celtic' methods of using these languages because, after all, they're Celtic languages, but all modes of conversation have to adapt. It worries me that all but Welsh are not doing this. English is more than likely 'less Germanic' than it was when it first pushed it's way forcefully across the British isles. It has adapted and therefore flourished.
So let's all condemn the third person with a smiley face and a good, old-fashioned snub🙂

Leave a Reply

