Broughton, Wales, England

My letter to Offa’s Dyke Hotel….

P’nawn da, ‘Offas Dyke’ pub-thingy.

 

My name is Stephen Rule. I recently received a flier through my door advertising your establishment following renovation work and couldn’t wait to respond.

 

I find your advertisement largely misleading as it says ‘Broughton’ (which is Brychdyn in Welsh – nice use of our nation’s language on your flier too, may I sarcastically add?) and is followed by ‘Chester, Cheshire.’
As owners of a business, I sincerely hope you’re aware that Broughton is in Wales and Chester is in England. These are two different countries.
I wonder whether you are actually in England and have accidentally written Broughton on your address or, and this is a more likely situation, you have aimed to totally mislead potential customers by advertising as a Chester-based venue because you think you’ll sound a bit more up-market.
Additionally, the name of your establishment needs an apostrophe in the title…. If you’re going to claim you’re in England, at least use proper English!

 

I for one will be looking forward to doing many other things in my life before even considering visiting your Anglo-centric and highly ignorant establishment. Things like stabbing myself in the eyes with pins, watching soup come to the boil on a low heat and, the old favourite, watching paint dry.

 

I will also invite my friends and family (and other social-media buddies) to bask in your utter and apparent blissful ignorance and advise them with great passion to stay well away from whatever it is you do.

 

Diolch am eich amser.

 

Stephen Rule,
Coed-llai / Leeswood,
Sir y Fflint / Flintshire
Wales / Cymru
England.

I still await a reply….

IMG_1327


🙂

4 thoughts on “Broughton, Wales, England

  1. “Additionally, the name of your establishment needs an apostrophe in the title…. If you’re going to claim you’re in England, at least use proper English!”

    Bwahahahaha! I think some coffee actually came down my nose!

Leave a Reply

