Take them home…. later

A  friend of mine posted this on Facebook:

“All of the Lewis Chessmen should be returned to Scotland”

 ****

I’d like to share with you my response:

My first (and second and third and every) instinct is to straight-up agree. They should be in their native land.

I saw these pieces while visiting the Mold Cape in London. From the time I got on the train in Chester up until the time immediately before I walked into the room where the Cape it situated I was seething. I was preparing myself to grit my teeth to my gums and tell anyone and everyone how this item belongs in Wales. How ‘loaning’ it back to Cardiff and Wrecsam every couple of years is a travesty and a disgrace.

Then I saw it. I’d seen the cape before in Wrecsam but in London it was sat directly as a centre piece of a vast room. As I stared at it, a member of the museum came over to me and told me all about it – despite the fact I knew they history they told me, it was nice to hear someone not Welsh taking as much interest as I did. She told me how it is cleaned and maintained regularly and is one of the prized exhibits at the museum.

Now I’ll be the first to proclaim and preach that 90% of the British Museum in London is the epitome of England’s brutish, colonial past (and present, for that matter), but it was calming and simply nice to know that the employees at the museum, those there to make a simple, honest living, took and take pride in these items and look after them.

It was warming to know that, despite the fact these pieces belong in their native lands, they’re being looked after until they do return.

My picture from 2013 of the Mold Cape in the British Museum, London. The bilingual information plaque was a decent touch.
My picture from 2013 of the Mold Cape in the British Museum, London. The bilingual information plaque was a decent touch.

🙂

Leave a Reply

