I won’t drink to that

Being asked to be a best man is supposed to be a happy occasion….

Now don’t get me wrong, I can count on my left hand how many times I’ve been speechless in my life – being talkative tends to go hand in hand with being super opinionated – but being asked to stand beside one of my very best pals as he ties the knot has now become another one of those rare occasions. Speechless, scared, made up and super f*cking exited! But yeah, definitely speechless.

To be honest, had his lovely wife-to-be not explained how she’d be serving up fajitas tonight I’d probably have found any excuse possible to stay at home in order to not have to put up with Amlyn bach – once every couple of weeks in the Cae Ras is enough for anyone!  ;-). So, on the promise of fajitas (and a Mexican Doritos band thingy!), Angharad I went round to Emlyn’s house.

Graced with wonderful company, football on the telly, food in our bellies and card games to hand, it was just another fun night in with great friends. The ambiance swiftly changed, however, when Amlyn said how he had something important to tell us as soon as Aron returned to his seat.

The first thing that came to my head was that he was about to tell us all that he’d asked Emily to marry him. Then I remembered that he’d already done that a few weeks ago. By the time I’d reminded myself of how much of an idiot I am, Aron had returned and Amlyn was handing out bottles to Martin…. and then to Aron…. and then to myself. Our favourite drinks…. but with rather unique labels!

****

When I get my hands on a TARDIS the first place I’m going (after the Cardiff City Stadium at ten minutes past eight on Friday 12th June 2015 – see above picture) is to my primary school playground. I will walk up to my 8-year-old self and will sit next to him. I’ll ask him whether he knows who the headmaster’s son is. Then I’ll correct him when he says his name is Emlyn…. #fate. Once he’s got over the fact that Amlyn really is his name, I’ll tell him that one day he’ll stand beside that same little boy who sits in the staff room all day unable to speak a word of English. I’ll tell him he’ll stand beside Amlyn some 20 years later in a church down in Cardiff as he gets married to the best thing that’s ever happened to him. Then I’ll leave in my TARDIS before I’m taken away by police!

 
Anyhow, like I said…. being asked to be a best man is supposed to be a happy occasion. Except, of course, when it means I will now forever be in possession of a bottle of our favourite lager that I can never open.

Some friend he is, huh?
Aye…. am ffrind, yn wir 😉

Leave a Reply

